Reviews

9.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.7
Comfort
9.7
Property location
8.8
Facilities
9.7
Staff
9.8
Value
9.1

Reviews

    Dorith
    il

    Review score

    9.2
    26 April 2018

    A different experience getting to know a Japanese ryokan style hotel

    A very unique place for experiencing Japanese culinary and Onsen adventure. It has all different kinds of Onsen- indoors, outdoors and private. Food was very special and very special in serving. Completely Japanese and strictly pre-decided for guests. No special requests. On the whole a few words should be said about this traditional ryokan experience. It’s a great haven for peace seekers. When you enter the premises it’s so serene and peaceful, one can sense the spirituality it offers. We were greeted with a hot tea cup upon arrival and with a complete explanation in basic English as to how the place functions and what (and where) it has to offer. Someone took care of our luggage and car, which was much appreciated. The very spacious room, composed of a sort of bedroom and a foyer, was great. No bathroom but an advanced toilet… the light turns on automatically, so does the toilet lid… The guests ore offered a yukata and an over robe, and a variety of shoes: for indoors, outdoors etc. One gets a nice little basket to take with on the way to the various Onsen baths. Most people arrived to dinner and breakfast with their yukata. Service at meals is completely Japanese and impeccable. The food prepared is from local ingredients and is changed with the changing seasons. It might be, at parts, not to the liking of westerns. One should be prepared for that. The place is very rural, much like the neighboring houses. It’s not a lush lavish modern or new hotel, but a very different one. People come here to enjoy the Onsen, and the quite. We stayed two nights. After breakfast on the first day we were offered a tasteful Onigiri for lunch which was rather nice. We needed to leave early the next morning, yet after leaving had to return, to straighten out the inaccurate bill we were presented with. We are sure it was not intentionally done and was probably a mistake, however, the way they dealt with the matter did leave us with an uneasy impression.
    Cheryl
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    22 April 2018

    Five-star accommodation and service, exceeded all expectations, and would definitely stay again

    Nothing
    The service was impeccable, the staff were sincere and went above and beyond. One of them even came running down the slope to meet us when we arrived to carry our luggage to the ryokan. Dinner and breakfast was provided, which consisted of multiple courses (kaiseki style). We were incredibly satisfied. There were even small surprise snacks in our room on check in and when they came to make up our room for the day. 3 different types of onsen- private, public and outdoor facing the river. We enjoyed the private onsen experience where you could choose to be indoors or outdoors. Indoors you can choose between a hot bath (44degrees C) or warm bath (35 degrees C) You could take a walk along the river (highly recommended), it's peaceful, serene, with a backdrop of the surrounding mountains Our 2 nights here was certainly the highlight of our trip Note: this Ryokan is an hour's bus ride from Takayama town centre so you'll have to factor that travel time into planning the trip
    natapol
    th

    Review score

    6.7
    16 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Alonso Martos
    es

    Review score

    10
    15 April 2018

    Unforgettable!!

    Tom Worthington
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    13 April 2018

    Worth the effort to get to

    A bit of a mission to get to; 70 minute bus from Takayama Bus Station to either stop HO40 or stop HO41 (3 minute walk from either) and the buses aren't very regular. 9 hours to get back to Narita Airport via Takayama, Nagoya , and Tokyo using JR pass services.
    Rustic charm, fantastic views, great food, and wonderful staff. The views from all 3 onsen (2 public, split sex) or private (first come first served, no booking/additional payment necessary) were great and it was very serene. The perfect final spot to enjoy Japan before returning home.
    stours
    sg

    Review score

    10
    9 April 2018

    Great experience overall!

    Service is very good. The onsens are very good, especially the outdoor one! Dinner and breakfast were very special.
    Eng Lin
    sg

    Review score

    9.2
    9 April 2018

    Wonderful stay!

    Nothing
    The onsens, especially the riverside ones, are gorgeous. Hotel is set in a beautiful serene location
    Family with kids
    th

    Review score

    9.6
    8 April 2018

    Great experience!!!! Want to spend more time over there!!!

    Dinner should have more choices for kids or should have kid's menu
    Almost everything is good. Really nice onsen!
    Lindsey Kevan de Lopez
    au

    Review score

    10
    30 March 2018

    What an Experiance

    Nothing
    Everything
    CHIHYUN
    tw

    Review score

    9.2
    5 March 2018
    Relax trip with gorgeous view and SPA.
    yiwen
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    20 February 2018

    Do yourself a favour and stay here...

    Everything
    Yu Shiang
    tw

    Review score

    10
    15 February 2018
    Its so beautiful to live here,my family all have a good time
    hk

    Review score

    10
    20 January 2018
    Tranditional smell 😎
    Environment, service
    hk

    Review score

    10
    17 January 2018

    Unexpected excellent servicing and food

    Excellent services and food, great onsen. Staff has good English. Relocation is good - close to bus stop and morning market.
    Ying Kin
    hk

    Review score

    9.2
    25 December 2017

    This is a great stay!

    The direction to the private spa and the open spa is quite confusing.
    The meal, both dinner and breakfast, are excellent. The spa, particularly the private spa room, are also excellent.
    hk

    Review score

    10
    2 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Caitlin
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    25 November 2017
    The futon was a little stiff
    The insensitive were amazing. The staff were so friendly
    Eng Lin
    sg

    Review score

    9.2
    13 November 2017

    One of the best ryokan experiences!

    No complimentary coffee
    An elegant, comfortable ryokan in a quiet forested setting.
    Pedro
    pt

    Review score

    8.3
    10 November 2017

    Great hotel, but...

    - We arrived early from Takayama city, at 11am, in a rainny cold day. Knowing already that the hotel is in a remote area (the nearst cafe is at a 15m bus ride) we asked the staff to wait till lunch time in the hotel reception. They simple say NO and sent us away to the bus stop, where we waited for the bus for an hour and 15m. A chair and a hot tea would be the minimum to recieve the guests... so, beware, NEVER arrive before 3pm at the hotel. - The beds were uncortable - the rooms have no shower
    Set in a magical location, with beautif onsens and an amazing old japanese guest house. Dinner was trully amazing! The best meal we had in our 14 day trip in japan.
    au

    Review score

    10
    23 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews